Ysgol Cefn CochUp one level
Pupils at Ysgol Cefn Coch are interested in the paths which travellers used to cross over the Traeth Bach from Minffordd, near Penrhyndeudraeth to the parish church at Llanfihangel-y-traethau to the south and accross the Traeth Mawr to the north of Gwynedd. There were local ferries and a bustling boat building industry up until the 1860s.
- Pupils visit Ynys
- On June 16 2008, Ysgol Cefn Coch pupils arrived at Ty Gwyn station, Ynys. They walked along the roadside where the sea once flooded in around the island. They were welcomed to the church by the Rev. Robert Hughes, the retired rector. He talked to them about the history of the church and reminded them of its connections with the sea. A tour of the church yard gave pupils the chance to explore the headstones. They found some of the 24 headstones of sailors, sea captains and boat builders. They had previously seen some of the names in the 1861 Census.
- Walking in Minffordd
- Cefn Coch pupils use their feet to follow parish paths this summer.